Printer icon

Other Events

Annual Research Achievement and David Martin Carter Mentor Awards Luncheon at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Investigative Dermatology

Thursday, May 8, 2014
Albuquerque, New Mexico

On Thursday, May 8, 2014 American Skin Association (ASA) presented its Research Achievement Awards and David Martin Carter Mentor Award at the Annual Meeting of the Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

ASA’s Research Achievement Awards were established to identify scientists in investigative dermatology and cutaneous biology. The awards recognize those who have greatly advanced work related to autoimmune and inflammatory skin diseases, melanoma and non-melanoma skin cancer, psoriasis, public policy and medical education, and vitiligo and pigment cell disorders. David A. Norris, MD, Chair of the Medical Advisory Committee, was delighted to present ASA’s 2014 Research Achievement Awards to:

Richard Edelson, MD

Yale School of Medicine
Melanoma and Skin Cancer Research

Barbara A. Gilchrest, MD

Boston University School of Medicine
Vitiligo and Pigment Cell Biology Research

Lowell Goldsmith, MD

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill School of Medicine
Public Policy and Medical Education

John Koo, MD

University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine
Psoriasis Research

Thomas S. Kupper, MD

Harvard University, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Autoimmune and Inflammatory Skin Disorders Research

Dr. Norris was also pleased to present the David Martin Carter Mentor Award to Gerald S. Lazarus, MD (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine). ASA’s David Martin Carter Mentor Award honors a member of the dermatology community who embodies the characteristics of the late David Martin Carter, MD, PhD that made him an inspiration to many dermatologists/investigators, colleagues and medical students throughout the world.

Following the ceremony, ASA hosted a luncheon for all award recipients and Medical Advisory Committee members to celebrate their achievements and contributions to dermatology.